Bake for the Quake

Last night’s Bake for the Quake bake sale was such a fantastic event. Organised by Mel from Gourmet Fury  and Joy from Gourmeted.com in aid of the earthquake in Japan and tsunami relief. The event gained a huge amount of social media attention from the web community and over 650 people showed up making it the biggest bake sale in Vancouver’s history. Like I said, charity is great and all, but add frosting to that and you can’t keep people away.

I got there early and met up with the lovely Colene and Rick Chung, there was already quite a line (I have to stop saying queue, too British of me). This was to be the theme of the night, jostling and trying not to get too sugar crazed.

Sigh, my photos always look like they were taken through a film of vaseline, I must save for a new snappy snapper.

Some healthy stuff, not for me.

I like my calories where I can see them, these looked amazing.

Fudge and little Buddha cookies, very clever.

Catering for the vegans, very impressive.

Baked in Vancouver’s Twitter famous Canucks cupcakes. Sadly, these did not spur the boys onto a victory tonight. They clearly need more sugar in their diets.

Our favourite table of all, SweeTease Cupcakes, these ladies were obviously professionals and had produced incredible works of cupcakery art. Burger and fries, anyone?

Hello, little chaps. Who wants to be eaten by me?

Oh little friend, you were a delicious treat.

3 thoughts on “Bake for the Quake

  1. Cathy Wong says:

    So glad you had a chance to squeeze through the crowds to visit the SweeTease table at the fundraiser and I hope that enjoyed all the yummy treats you picked up at the event! I’m so glad that I’m able to hunt down people like yourself who managed to snap some pictures of our treats!! I had arrived late for our set up and by the time we scrambled to have the table partially completed, swarms of people had already started to pour in and so I wasn’t able to grab some shots of our table that day before all our goodies have been bought (of course, I’m not complaining since SweeTease managed to pool over $600, contributing just over 50% of our sales to the cause). With that in mind, I wanted to also personally THANK YOU for your support and buying one of our little gourmet sweets…the little love bird looks super cute with that little bit of coconut nest on its head!

    In any case, I wanted to also check in to see whether I would steal a few shots of our treats from you, for the SweeTease Cupcakes website gallery (I can also provide a link to your blog, if you would like). You’re pictures are FAB!

    Thanks again for swinging by and contributing your support to such a worthy cause!

  2. Linzi says:

    Hi Cathy, thanks for your comment. And I loved your cupcakes. You can use any of the pictures you want, and I’ve emailed some to you.
    Linzi

  3. candice says:

    Thank you so much for blogging about the Cupcakes!!! I wish they would eat more sugar if that’s what it takes for them to FINALLY win against Chicago!! Thank you sooo much for coming by, I love your photos and the whole post! It’s so nice to see other peoples view on the event from the other side of the table!! Thank again 🙂

Leave a Reply

