Sunny Saturday

Hey, sunny Saturday, good to see you! After the week of rain we had, it was beautiful to be able to see sunny skies, and while the yoga studio was calling, I went for a moochy pooch on The Drive instead.

The Drive, for all you non-Vancouverites, is the mecca for hipsters and shopping. For me, it’s a dangerous place to be with my credit card. Today I popped into The Barefoot Contessa and nearly bankrupted myself. Visions of pretty dresses dance in my head.

East Van believes! And the sun obliged.

JJ Bean, if hipsters had a mothership, this would be it. The baristas are adorable peeps with fun hats and sweet smiles. Everyone working here has a quirky haircut, big black framed glassed and tattoos everywhere. They are nice though, not at all as douchey as the ones on Main, and they make a damn good coffee.  And chocolate chip zucchini muffins. This branch has great seating, including some bar seats that wrap around vintage machines, helpful for having a chat, if you could engage a hipster. On the downside, as I was trying to chill out, a crazy homeless lady came in and had a bit of a scene. Oh Vancouver.

Behold, Dutch Girl Chocolates. Uh oh, this place could get me in trouble. As I stood snapping this picture, a random creepo stopped to say I looked beautiful and did I want my picture taken. Hand my iPhone to a passing stranger? I’d rather cut my arm off.

Love the inside of DGC, lots of old fashioned sweets, jar of candies and artisan chocolates.

What I love about The Drive is all the seating outside cafes and bars, they really encourage the community vibe of the area. #EastVanLove


New dress. And I already ate the fudge, because the mean dentist lady made me upset.

I love polka dots. And going out without a coat. Woot for summa, bitches!

Leave a Reply

