To 2012

I don’t know about you but I am really excited for 2012. A new year for untapped potential, adventures and fun times. I’m starting as I mean to go on, leaving behind 2011’s dramas and getting ready for a fresh new 12 months.

A few key things I’ve loved about 2011:

#thepeoplewhoshowup Our very own hashtag dedicated to friendship. Raise a glass to the people in your life who show up for you. If you don’t know what it means to show up for someone, then maybe you can learn this next year.

‘This is a once in a lifetime thing’ To more people saying this to me in 2012, even if it means getting out of bed in a tent at midnight to splash in the cold ocean and see phosphorescence for the first (hopefully not last) time in my life. Once in a lifetime thing, I live for this shit.

I’ve never done this before Then you definitely should. Goes double for I’ve never eaten this before 

Surprising myself  To more experiences where I push myself out of my comfort zone, perhaps this means strapping into a harness and forgetting any fear of heights.

Defying Expectations The great thing about a new year is that you don’t owe anyone anything for it. Defy people’s expectations of what ‘you always do’.

Growth However many mistakes made and wrong turns taken, you learn eventually to stop beating yourself up about it, figure out the lesson and grow to use this knowledge for the next time.

Be grateful for friends made, relationships that mean something, adventures that open you up and lessons that change you.

This is the first year in a while I’ve no baggage weighing me down. It’s just a new year and I am delighted to see what it holds.

            
I hope there are more ridiculous hats.

Leave a Reply

